Round 2: Julianna vs. Chemo

Well since the last post, I…

  1. Celebrated my first Mother’s Day in the hospital complete with a huge yummy breakfast and beautiful red roses.

2. Appeared on a local news station to share our message of hope. Here’s the link:

http://www.nbcmiami.com/news/local/Faith-to-Fertility-One-Couples-Journey-378422851.html

3. Was released from the hospital for a week and a half. Our first stop was the beach for dinner…

img_0966

4. Shaved my head…and his!

img_1022

5. Celebrated Little Bean at our Baby Shower… this little one is SO LOVED!img_1192

6. Went back into the hospital this past Monday for Round 2 (and this is where I’ll pick up…).

img_1194

Our week and a half “break” was so nice! We didn’t do anything extravagant, in fact, we did a lot of errands for the baby shower, had a lot of doctors appointments, and got things ready in the nursery. But it was so nice to be in my “normal” environment. Sure there were some modifications I had to make- like learning to drive the electric carts at Wholefoods and Target- not as easy as it looks! But we took in all the “little things” we would soon miss in our next three-week stay for Round 2.

So on Monday morning, Allan dropped me off at the front entrance so he could park in the garage while I admitted myself for Round 2. I walked through the automatic double doors, got in line for security, then my eyes welled up with tears and I turned around and walked back outside. I knew it would be three weeks before I would feel the warm South Florida sun on my skin or be on another floor in the hospital other than the 8th, but most of all, I knew what was ahead. Thankfully, there was a secluded prayer garden nearby so I plopped myself down on the bench and had a good cry- just God, Little Bean, and I. Then, I wiped the tears away and told myself to put on my big girl panties and in the double doors I walked again. We got settled in fast so I could get the PICC line in and chemo could begin that afternoon. One of my oncologists walked in shortly after and told me that he spoke to my other oncologist about me going home on Friday once I finished the 4th treatment of Round 2 as long as LB and I were good. We were definitely surprised by this since we had three weeks set in our minds and as uncomfortable as hospitals are, there is comfort found in having around the clock health professionals for us. He went on to say that I responded better than hoped for in Round 1 so they’re very optimistic. The previous bone marrow biopsy was only able to detect mutated cells on a molecular level but very very little and no telling if the abnormalities were malignant or benign (the numbers were somewhere around .04% mutated compared to 70%+ when diagnosed- PRAISE THE LORD!!). LB and I remained in good health and we were sent home late Friday! Woohoo!!

Please pray for us in the couple weeks to come as my numbers drop and that’s when I’m at most risk for sickness and infection. I still have to remain isolated and I have multiple doctors appointments everyday but being home keeps me stronger and healthier. Besides, I have a really good looking nurse who takes care of my PICC line daily (and I happen to be married to him!)! And please, please continue to pray for the protection of Little Bean- she is so fierce!

Thank you all for your continued support whether through prayer, encouragement, finances, household help, you all mean the world to us. And I don’t know if I can truly emphasize the strength you all give us. We have the BEST family, friends, and community. We love you!!

Romans 5:1-5 (ESV)

Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

6 thoughts on “Round 2: Julianna vs. Chemo

  1. Wow so nice they let you out early!! And that your numbers have gotten so good! That’s amazing!! I think about you every single day, and I talk about what’s happened with you with some of my friends. I will say almost every time I get a bit choked up. I haven’t watched your news story because I know I will just be a bawling disaster. I wish I could do more to help you out, but please know that I send you lots of healing thoughts and love every single day!! BTW…how far along are you now? I just can’t keep track! *hugs*

    Like

  2. Wow!! I just went back and read your last couple posts. Somehow I never saw those posts in my reader. I’m so sorry to hear that you have cancer. What a whirlwind time! I’m so thankful you are being treated and getting better and that baby is doing well also! Praise God!!

    Like

  3. First of all, you look BEAUTIFUL! Absolutely radiant, hair or no hair, with that lovely baby glow. I’m so glad you got some time away from the hospital AND that you had a shorter stay this last time. I know that it feels good to be home. Praying for continued strength and healing and protection over both you and your little babe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

