IUI(s) #3

I told you we would go out swinging in Round 3… so we decided to do injectibles this round!! From CD3-7 I gave myself a Gonal-F 75iu injection at night. 

My body responded fast and by CD8 I gave myself the Ovidrel trigger shot. The next day we went in for IUI #3, Part 1:


It went very well! Our doctor was extremely impressed with our numbers and this time the follicles (yes, plural, there were two! Perhaps twins?!) hadn’t yet ruptured… finally we were able to get an insemination in before the rupture! He did an ultrasound after the insemination (this triggered my round ligament pain again but this time it only lasted a day!) so we were able to see that the “sample” was in the perfect position and at 95% motility, he is optimistic! The next day we went in for IUI #3 part 2…


A new doctor in the practice performed the IUI she was very positive and is herself pregnant… hopefully her condition is contagious! 😉 We were a little nervous because our “sample” was over an hour old when we finally got in for the insemination and they didn’t do an ultrasound before or after so I’m not sure what’s really going on in there. But as the doctor inserted the catheter, she said “this is the last time you’ll need to do this!” Allan and I really appreciated the positivity. However, we were still nervous afterwards and then I came across this verse,

“My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” And Paul responded to that with, “So now I am glad to boast about my weakness, so that the power of Christ can work through me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Things didn’t go exactly as I had planned and I would’ve been less anxious had we done an ultrasound (for all I know, the follicles may not have even burst yet). I guess this is a test of my faith- having peace and believing without seeing- literally, blind faith. So this verse is a reminder that His grace is ALL I need. So I will take advice from Paul and boast that no matter what odds were for us or against us, our God’s power works best in weakness. Perhaps you’re going through a situation that seems to be filled with a lot of “weaknesses”, will you join me in trusting [no matter the immediate results] that His best work is done in our weakness?

….let the two week wait begin!! Your prayers are much appreciated!

3 thoughts on “IUI(s) #3

  1. Good luck!! I’m kinda jealous that they u/s you beforehand, and after…my RE doesn’t do that. And you got 2 IUIs in one!! That’s incredible! Wishing you the best of luck and a fast TWW!! We’ll be ending ours at the same time!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

